Launched in 1993, the County Air Ambulance Trust is the region’s oldest independent Air Ambulance charity. At a time when the local economy was badly affected by recession, it played an indispensable part in securing the financial future of the first red helicopter flying from Cosford, paving the way for rapid expansion.



The County Air Ambulance Trust funded the new infrastructure at Strensham.


Saw the new visitor centre and operational base at RAF Cosford followed by a new hangar in 2001 funded by the County Air Ambulance Trust. Today there are six helicopters in the Central England Region but the Helicopter Emergency Medical Service or HEMS is not now solely about helicopters.


Saw the launch of our HELP Appeal (Helicopter Emergency Landing Pads), a campaign and appeal to hasten the development of a highly equipped network of helipads.


The first new helipad was opened at Oswestry Orthopaedic Hospital.


The helipad at Southampton General Hospital opened.


Gloucester Royal Hospital helipad re-opened and new crew accommodation provided at Strensham air base.


New crew accommodation provided at RAF Cosford air base. Funding for St Mary’s Hospital helipad on Isle of Wight and funding for upgrades at Addenbrookes, Cambridge and Royal Preston hospital.


New helipads opened at St George’s Hospital, London; Bristol Royal Infirmary and Bristol Southmead Hospitals. Funding to upgrade helipads with lighting at Princess Royal Hospital Telford and at Royal Shrewsbury Hospital


New helipads opened at Glasgow, Plymouth and Stornoway hospitals


New helipads opened at Sheffield Northern and King’s College Hospital London


New helipads opened at Liverpool Aintree and Bournemouth hospitals.  New lighting and firefighting works completed at Leeds General Infirmary. Work starts on new helipads at Ipswich, Hull and Worcester hospitals.


  • Catherine, Lady Forester DL
  • Hugh Meynell MBE
  • Sir Algernon Heber-Percy KCVO Lord Lieutenant of Shropshire

  • The Countess of Aylesford
  • Lindsay Bury
  • Mrs Vesey Holt
  • The Lord Stafford
  • John N Kirkland
  • The Lord Vestey
  • The Duke of Beaufort
  • Professor Sir Keith Porter
  • Martin Thompson
  • Michael Henriques

  • John Jones DL

  • Hugh Meynell MBE
  • Mrs Michael Brinton DL
  • Paul Harris
  • Richard Everard OBE, DL
  • Mrs Nicholas Bishop
  • Dr Shaukat Ali